Home

It has been awhile since I’ve been on here! Mostly due to a influx of mediocre movies out now. Hopefully that changes soon. But now I’m here with my Oscar picks for Sunday. Enjoy and debate!

Best Actor
This is Colin Firth’s to lose. Even though there are great performances in this category (James Franco, Jeff Bridges) they don’t captivate a film much like Firth’s did. He was the movie. And he will be the Oscar winner as well. My pick: Colin Firth (The King’s Speech)

Best Actress
The same as Best Actor. It is a two horse race with one horse being a little better, actually not a horse, a swan. Natalie Portman’s performance much like Firth’s was the movie and she will go home with an Oscar. My pick: Natalie Portman (Black Swan)

Best Supporting Actor
This category has a nice field. I like Mark Ruffalo, Geoffrey Rush, and Christian Bale but only one truly made the movie. It was a character conceit that could not be matched. Congrats Mr Bale. Bravo. My pick: Christian Bale (The Fighter)

Best Supporting Actress
It’s really sad but this field is great too but once again there is one head above the pack. She was the other gleaming light in the movie. My pick: Melissa Leo (The Fighter)

Best Director
I’m still mad that Christopher Nolan isn’t nominated. Stupid Academy. I like the field still and I think that the winner gets it due to the just mind blowing approach of his movie. My pick: David Fincher (The Social Network)

Best Original Screenplay
I’m going out on a limb for this one. I believe this one deserves it even though I see it getting snubbed. It was purely original and something no one has ever seen before and that’s why it should win. My pick: Inception

Best Adapted Screenplay
This one is a pretty much no brainer. He is sweeping every writing award and should get this one as well hands down. My pick: The Social Network

Best Animated Film
You know it already. Even though How To Train Your Dragon is delightful. I loved it. My pick: Toy Story 3

Best Original Score
He probably won’t win it but I’m putting him because in my mind he deserves it. I loved The Social Network score but this one is more worthy. My pick: Hans Zimmer (Inception)

Best Picture
The big one. This race I believe is between two films, The Social Network and The King’s Speech. I loved The Social Network. It is a generation defining film that glimpses into the lives of everyone because millions of people use Facebook daily but the Academy is a bunch of old people and they love history. I think due to that and their undying love for period pieces they go with the latter of the two. My pick: The King’s Speech



Leave a Reply

