Home

Time for my picks for the Golden Globes! I haven’t seen as many of these films as I would of liked to but I’ll do my best with what I have!



Best Picture: Drama
The Descendants
The Help
Hugo
The Ides of March
Moneyball
War Horse

The Descendants is one of the best films of the year. I personally thought The Tree of Life or The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo should be in this category over The Help or The Ides of March but I can’t change anything! This movie has been dominating awards left and right and there shouldn’t be a change here. It should take away top prize easily.

Best Picture: Comedy or Musical
50/50
The Artist
Bridesmaids
Midnight in Paris
My Week With Marilyn

The Artist like The Descendants is a large player so far in awards season and while it hasn’t quite dominated as much as my previous pick I think it should take this award. I haven’t seen The Artist yet and enjoyed 50/50, Bridesmaids, and Midnight in Paris a lot but The Artist is made for getting awards and it will in the Golden Globes

Best Director
Woody Allen, Midnight in Paris
George Clooney, The Ides of March
Michel Hazanavicius, The Artist
Alexander Payne, The Descendants
Martin Scorsese, Hugo

Right now both Hazanavicius and Payne are leading the pack in the directors category and I feel like Steven Spielberg with War Horse was left out but out of this group I have to go with the great Scorsese. His film was innovating and spectacular. It was beautifully shot and was classic Scorsese camera work. He is probably the best in the business and this film further cemented that. While the other two leaders had masterpiece films, Scorsese’s was on a different level and deserves the recognition for it.

Best Actor: Drama
George Clooney, The Descendants
Leonardo DiCaprio, J.Edgar
Michael Fassbender, Shame
Ryan Gosling, The Ides of March
Brad Pitt, Moneyball

This category comes down to Clooney and Pitt. Both performances were fantastic and are both similar in the fact that they are about men on their own trying to balance work and family under trying circumstances but Clooney’s stood out more for me due to the stripped down performance that he gave. He was not George Clooney the playboy/millionaire, he was a normal man trying to get through a tragedy with his two daughters with his whole world falling around him. It was unlike any other performance and while Pitt’s was great as well, Clooney’s stuck out more for me.

Best Actress: Drama
Glenn Close, Albert Nobbs
Viola Davis, The Help
Rooney Mara, The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo
Meryl Streep, The Iron Lady
Tilda Swinton, We Need To Talk About Kevin

Meryl Streep should dominate with this role. Much like Colin Firth last year, Streep completely encompasses the role and while the film itself isn’t amazing (from what I’ve heard and read) the one constant is Streep’s performance and her portrayal of Margaret Thatcher is on point. Viola Davis did blow people away and Rooney Mara was fantastic but Meryl Streep owns this year, no question.

Best Actress: Comedy or Musical
Jodie Foster, Carnage
Charlize Theron, Young Adult
Kristin Wiig, Bridesmaids
Michelle Williams, My Week With Marilyn
Kate Winslet, Carnage

I haven’t seen this movie either but from what I’ve heard and read Michelle Williams is great as Marilyn Monroe. The only other person in this category that I’ve seen is Wiig but her performance isn’t close to the others. Williams nabs this one.

Best Actor: Comedy or Musical
Jean Dujardin, The Artist
Brendan Gleeson, The Guard
Joseph Gordon Levitt, 50/50
Ryan Gosling, Crazy Stupid Love
Owen Wilson, Midnight in Paris

While I enjoyed JGL, Gosling, and Wilson in their respective roles it seems like Dujardin will take this award as he was great in The Artist. Again, I haven’t seen it yet so I’m going off speculation but all signs point to him.

Best Supporting Actress
Berenice Bejo, The Artist
Jessica Chastain, The Help
Janet McTeer, Albert Nobbs
Octavia Spencer, The Help
Shailene Woodley, The Descendants

While Bejo has garnered the most press for this award, I have to go with Spencer. She was one of the shining stars from this movie and I think that her or Davis should grab an award for their performances.

Best Supporting Actor
Kenneth Branagh, My Week With Marilyn
Albert Brooks, Drive
Jonah Hill, Moneyball
Viggo Mortensen, A Dangerous Method
Christopher Plummer, Beginners

Another category where I haven’t seen a bunch of the nominees but I know both Plummer and Brooks are garnering interest. Albert Brooks is supposed to be fantastic in Drive and with this movie not getting much love from the Golden Globes I wanna throw it some here. I’m going Brooks here.

Best Foreign Language Film
“A Separation” (Iran)
The Flowers Of War” (China)
“The Kid With The Bike” (Belgium)
“In The Land Of Blood and Honey” (USA)
“The Skin I Live In” (Spain)

I know that this movie is directed by Angelina Jolie and I know it’s supposed to be good. I’m sorry but I don’t have access to these movies and can’t see them. This vote is based on research from other picks by other writers.

 Best Screenplay
The Artist
The Descendants
The Ides of March
Midnight in Paris
Moneyball

This category gets split and I feel like Moneyball could take the Adapted Screenplay category but here I think The Descendants tops it. The script had such a great mix of drama and humor and gave us fantastic characters. While I loved Moneyball and Midnight in Paris‘ stories as well, I think The Descendants continues dominance.

Best Original Score
Ludovic Bource – “The Artist”
Abel Korzeniowski – “W.E.”
Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross – “The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo”
Howard Shore – “Hugo”
John Williams – “War Horse”

I was torn between Shore, Williams, and Reznor. All three are captivating and pulsing scores that give a unique and perfect mood to their respective films. But when I listened to them again I had to go with Shore. He encompassed silent films, regular films, and a 3D film all in one score and I found that to be amazing.

Best Animated Film
The Adventures of Tintin
Arthur Christmas
Cars 2
Puss In Boots
Rango

This category comes down to Tintin and Rango. Both have innovative animation and both could contend with the Best Picture categories in my opinion. But I found Tintin to be more engaging as an animated film. It was similar to the Pixar masterpieces in the fact that it mixed both comic-like animation and new age animation so perfectly as well as gave us great characters and a fantatsic story. My vote goes to Tintin!

Leave a Reply

