Home

This post will be my 100th for my blog so I wanted to make it special and go into why I love movies so much and what makes them so special to me.

I put a picture of one of my all-time favorite movies, Ben-Hur, as my cover not only because it is one of my favorite films (and one of my favorite scenes) but it also displays that classic cinema that kind of has a romantic tug on me.

This romance with classic cinema probably began with me actually very recently with my Intro to Film Studies class that I took in school. I was opened up to some of the greatest films ever made such as Singin’ In The Rain and Citizen Kane as well as some great directors such as Charlie Chaplin and Buster Keaton. This great figures became some of my favorite film icons instantly and with more viewings of their work I continue to gain more respect for the work that they did and how it contributed to the film landscape today, especially Citizen Kane, which was fun to watch and learn how some of the techniques that Orson Welles used were ground-breaking even though you see them in movies and films all the time now.

In this class I also found a passion for foreign films, in particular the works of Swedish director Ingmar Bergman and French New Wave director Francois Truffaut who after seeing and loving Wild Strawberries and The 400 Blows in class made me go and look for more of their work and found it to be so artistic and creative. Truffaut is amazing at creating that perfect shot with my favorite being the final scene of The 400 Blows where Antoine Doinel (Jean-Pierre Leaud) is running to the beach. Bergman gets to me in a very artistic way as well and the surrealism of his work while maybe a little bizarre is doing a fantastic job of intriguing me rather than being weird or boring.

Film has become more of an art form in my eyes through the works of these directors which opened my eyes to films and movies in general in a new way. While there are films that are like a painting in film form such as most of Terrence Malick’s work and scenes in Woody Allen’s Manhattan or if it is just well-crafted uplifting writing such as Wes Anderson’s Fantastic Mr Fox or Marc Webb’s (500) Days of Summer I always appreciate directors and writers who go out of their way to make a work of film more unique than the general Hollywood movie. Not saying that the general Hollywood movie can’t be unique and enjoyable because I look at Chris Nolan’s Batman films and the majority of Pixar’s films as being highly enjoyable and incredibly creative.

To finish this little love letter to film I want to say that film is an art. I like to see it treated that way. When a film is made in a way that leaves you thinking about it, listening to the score, or discussing it then it usually has accomplished what it set out to be. I love a good conversation on films in the present because the industry has changed so much and at the same time has become such a curious animal. There is so much beauty still in films just like there was in those classic films. Look at how beautiful of a movie James Cameron’s  Avatar was. Flaws aside it was a gorgeous movie and a triumph in that regard. I also look at Martin Scorsese’s Hugo which is honestly the most beautiful film I’ve ever seen in 3-D which is a technology that is usually cursed but in this case made the film into such an immersive and elegant that I just couldn’t get over it after seeing it in 3-D twice.

I conclude now though with this final thought. I absolutely love film and I love doing this blog. It’s always fun to have people adding input into it because as I’ve said, I love talking film. I hope my readers enjoy this blog and my work as well because you are the reasons I do it. I love sharing and discussing my opinion on film. Thank you.

2 thoughts on “Why I Love Movies

  1. Good post, and congrats on it being your 100th!I love classic cinema. Ben Hur and Citizen Kane are favorites, and I just saw Spartacus for the first time. I like what you have to say about Bergman. I just watched "Cries and Whispers" last week, and found it baffling. I didn't exactly dislike it, but I couldn't find much common ground with any of the characters, especially the scary self mutilating eldest sister. I think I would understand it better, though, if I saw more of his repertoire. (Tree of Life is currently tied for my favorite movie with Beasts of the Southern Wild. You should see it.)

Leave a Reply

